Mission and Ministry - Mission of the Church

1. The Body of Christ

The Church is the body of which Christ is the head and all baptised are members, believing that God is one and yet revealed as Father, Son and Holy Spirit - a Holy Trinity, recognising God as Creator, Redeemer and Sustainer, and

(a) lives to be the agent and sign of the Reign of God

(b) is called to offer worship and service to God in the power of the Holy Spirit

(c) as the community of faith, provides for all God's people, the turangawaewae - the common ground

2. The Church

a) is ONE, because it is one body under one head, Jesus Christ

b) in HOLY, because the Holy Spirit dwells in its members and guides it in mission
c) is CATHOLIC, because it seeks to proclaim the whole faith to all the people to the end of time
d) is APOSTOLIC, because it presents the faith of the Apostles and is sent to carry Christ's mission to all the world.

3. The Five Fold Mission Statement of the Church includes:

(a) proclaiming the Good News of God's Reign

(b) teaching, baptising and nurturing the new believers within eucharistic communities of faith

(c) responding to human needs by loving service

(d) seeking to transform unjust structures of society

(e) striving to safeguard the integrity of creation, sustaining and renewing the earth.

 Mission and Ministry - Mission Goals -Being Relevant in the 21st century

As part of the Christian Church, the Anglican Diocese of Waiapu commits itself to the Anglican Consultative Council's Five Fold Mission Statement and also to the following:

1. Worship
We will create worshipping Church communities that are open, welcoming and inclusive; affirming those churches that, in their life and worship, are striving to be life giving and relevant to the spiritual needs of people in New Zealand today, churches that are developing worship spaces, styles of worship, times and music in worship that are convenient & appropriate.

2. Including all
We will encompass language and styles for all generations, where children and young people join in the life of the church as of right, knowing they belong.
Our Ethical Guidelines state:
'every human has infinite worth and a unique value as a child of God, irrespective of origin, ethnicity, sex/gender, sexual orientation, age, beliefs, social or economic status, contribution to society or present psychological, physical or spiritual state.'

3. Sharing the Story 
We will ensure that the Gospel we share is taught and passed on by helping our members to tell their faith stories; encouraging commitment to Christ and the Church and opportunities for re-commitment for those requiring refreshment in their journey of faith.

4. Evoking/Supporting All Ministries 
We will evoke the gifts of ministry among all the baptised, developing a variety of ministry models, offering relevant training and resourcing for all Lay Ministry; calling more people to train for ordination as deacons and priests; providing skilled trainers committed to continuing education.

5. Serving Others
We will build Christian communities that seek justice for the world, care for the environment and serve their local communities, rather than existing for their own congregational benefit.

6. Partnerships
We will continue to explore bi-cultural and ecumenical partnerships within our churches, our communities and our Nation.

The Anglican Church in Aotearoa, NZ and Polynesia

1. The Anglican Communion

The Anglican Church in Aotearoa, New Zealand and Polynesia is part of and belongs to the Anglican Communion, which is a fellowship of duly constituted Dioceses, Provinces or Regional Churches in communion with the See of Canterbury, sharing with one another, their life and mission in the spirit of mutual responsibility and inter-dependence. The head of the Anglican Communion is the Archbishop of Canterbury, Dr Rowan Williams, who resides at Lambeth Palace in London.  All of the Bishops of the Communion meet every ten years for the Lambeth Conference, the next of which is to be held in Canterbury in the County of Kent in 2008.

2. Ecumenical Commitment

This Church entered into an Act of Commitment in 1967 with the Presbyterian Church of New Zealand, the Methodist Church of New Zealand, the Associated Churches of Christ and the Congregational Union in New Zealand; in 1986 accepted the principle of Unity By Stages; and continues to pray and work for the unity which Christ builds.

3. Bi-Cultural Development and Partnership

On the basis of the Gospel and by the Treaty of Waitangi signed in 1840, as the agreed basis for future Government and settlement of New Zealand, this Church is committed to the principles of partnership and Bi-Cultural development which require it to:
advance its mission, safeguard and develop its doctrine and, order its affairs, within its own Tikanga (Pakeha); be diligent in prescribing and keeping all avenues open leading to the common ground (with Tikanga Maori); maintain the right of every person to choose any particular cultural expression of the faith.

4. The Constitution/Te Pouhere

Te Runanga o Te Pihopatanga o Aotearoa and the General Synod of this Church meeting together in general conference in November 1990, covenanted with each other and agreed to certain amendments and revision, for the Constitution to implement and entrench the principles of partnership between Maori and Pakeha and Bicultural development, and to incorporate and extend the principal provisions of the Church of England Empowering Act 1928; following on this, the General Synod/Te Hinota Whanui of the Church in Hamilton in 1992, adopted the Constitution of the Anglican Church in Aotearoa, New Zealand and Polynesia - Te Pouhere o Te Hahi Mihinare Ki Aotearoa, Ki Niu Tireni, Ki nga Moutere o Te Moana Nui a Kiwi - which is the basis of the Constitution under which the Diocese of Waiapu operates.